The Summer of Significance

This summer has been pretty unique for me so far, and not simply because it’s the first one in a long while where I’m unemployed and spending an awful lot of time with my Roku. If you would ask me if I was seeing progress in the things that I hoped this time off of work would be, I would definitely say yes. I would also say that progress is coming in some rather unexpected places.

First off, there is Soggy Doggie. This whole idea of opening a store of things that I crocheted started out as just a random idea that I never really expected to come to fruition. As with most random and time consuming ideas when you’re working a full time job, I expected it to fall by the wayside and people to eventually forget about it (myself included). As it turns out, with all this time on my hands, I have actually had time to plan and dream about this concept. And this past week on July 17th (which might have also been my birthday) the shop officially launched on Etsy. It is still small, but it’s much better than I ever expected when the idea first came, and I have had time to spend hours upon hours jotting down ideas, planning, and working out amazing things for the future. And, we were featured on the Indie Gift Box blog our first week, which I think is pretty cool.

Secondly, there is my life. This past week has been one of the best weeks I’ve had in years. My birthday was amazing. I spent time with my Mom during the day and Nick and Gena in the evening. And my sister Kristen happened to be in town for meetings as well, which was an exceptional bonus. This is the first year she and I have both seen each other on our birthdays in years. I can’t even remember the last time. And we all went to Steak N Shake at 11pm and ate and laughed around the table like when we were all much younger and living at home. It was the kind of nostalgia that makes your heart feel full without that twinge of emptiness. I didn’t regret what had been lost, I was simply happy in the moment to be in it again.

Last night I even got to go to an old fashioned high school rock show and be a roadie and work the merch table, just like old times. And today, Nick, Gena, and I went to the aquarium. I have been dying to visit that place for like five years and had as yet never quite been able to make the time. During this summer, time was made.

It’s funny because if someone would ask me about what I remember about last summer, it would be that I had to work until six on the 4th of July. And I got a surprise party for my birthday. That’s it. Nothing else. This year though? This is the summer when I quit my job and broke free from its negativity. This is the summer I started my business. The summer I went to the aquarium. The summer I concentrated more on relationships than comfort, on dreams than regrets, on God than me. This was the summer when I changed.

It would be easy for me to just be lazy and watch reruns all day. But that’s not really the point, is it? If this whole experience was orchestrated to change me, then I’d say the notes have definitely started to coordinate. And I really think this new melody will follow me much farther than the end of August.

2 thoughts on “The Summer of Significance

    • Honestly, I really really am too. It’s been so interesting to see how even small things change in me. Things that I used to think were so vital are trivial, and things that have been long backseated are coming to the surface. It’s nice to feel wholly worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

